Week 13 Artist Conversation – Brittnee Forline – “Finifugal”

finigal

Before walking into this exhibit I had no idea the word “finifugal” existed. Today, I love the word. As Brittnee Forline displayed in her exhibit, it means “Hating endings; of someone who tries to avoid or prolong the final moments of a story, relationship, or some other journey.” I identify with the meaning of Forline’s exhibit on so many levels. Like Forline, I find myself looking for stability in my own life and ways in which to capture moments or feelings. It’s beautiful that Forline was able to do this through her metal artwork. Her metal jewelry was reminiscent of rustic medieval times. And her butterfly cycle representative of beauty and change. Forline’s metal exhibit was different than any type of work that I had seen at the CSULB exhibit’s before, but it carried a powerful resonating message.

possst

Leave a Reply

